XXXX – Traveling in Myanmar raised intense emotional feelings!

Traveling in Myanmar/Burma was an experience I will never forget!

The following posts about my time in Myanmar (also known as “Burma”, this country is bordered by India, Bangladesh, China, Laos and Thailand!) were the hardest to write for me because Myanmar wasn’t about beautiful sightseeing, incredible wild nature, stunning architectural buildings, nor funny/weird stories happening to me!

It was ALL ABOUT PEOPLE. It was about intense moments/encounters with Burmese, and the true, pure, raw emotions I felt deeply inside. And, it wasn’t easy to put on paper the full range of emotions I felt. In general, I don’t open up easily, I don’t like talking about my deepest feelings… so writing about it?!? Hmmm… quite tough!

Besides, I wasn’t sure how I could share this experience so everyone would understand it… It’s like, sometimes, when you tell a story to a friend about something real funny that happened to you, and your friend just look at you, and just don’t get it. He is not laughing. He wasn’t there, he didn’t live the moment, so he just don’t get why you’re cracking up! Sometimes, it’s hard to describe/tell others what happened exactly, what you felt inside, what you were thinking at the time,…

But I was determined to do my best! However, I couldn’t possibly write about all the people I met during my stay in Myanmar, because then I would need to write a zillion posts… and you don’t want to read a zillion posts from me!?! So, I chose some stories that I though reflected the most what I experienced in Myanmar.

Our names written in Burmese!

Starting with meeting at the airport of Yangon (capital of Myanmar) 2 amazing persons, Pauline and Guillaume, a French couple with whom I traveled (to Yangon, Mandalay, Amarapura, Pyin OO Lwin, Kalaw, Inle Lake, and back to Yangon) and with whom I shared this Burmese experience!

While I was waiting in line at the airport for the usual border formalities (flight from KL), I saw a French inscription on the backpack of the girl in front of me and thus, I engaged the conversation with her.

Pauline and Guillaume!

They had booked in advance a room in a nice hostel that also offered free pick-ups from the airport to the hostel! (smart move as it turned out most hostels were fully booked!). I, on the other hand, didn’t have a clue on how to get to the city’s center (not to mention that I hadn’t booked a bed/room in a hostel, of course!). Since Pauline and Guillaume’s hostel was fully booked, the only solution proposed by the managers of the hostel, was to add a bed in their private room. And, both immediately agreed to it (and saved me from a painful research for a bed)! They are amazing people with big hearts!

Traveling in Myanmar without them would definitely have not been the same! They both made it much more special and unique.  Myanmar was definitely the beginning of a new true life-long friendship!

The Traveling Trio !!

Someone once said “Many people will walk in and out of you life, but only true friends will leave footprints in your heart.”

This entry was posted in Myanmar. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

