XXXVIII – Visited one, two, three times Kuala Lumpur’s famous Petronas Twin Towers!!

The CN Tower in Toronto, Ontario.                                                                                               The Empire State building in NY, USA.                                                                                        The Tapei 101 in Taipei, Taiwan.                                                                                                    The Burj Khalifa in Dubai, United Arab Emirates.                                                                         The Tokyo Sky Tree in Tokyo, Japan.                                                                                            The Sears Towers in Chicago, USA.

AND The Petronas Towers in Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia.

The common denominator? All these buildings are among the tallest in the world!!! And, I am a big fan of tall buildings even though I have a bit of a fear of heights (I am working on it)! On this journey, I am the lucky girl who got to see the tallest twin buildings in the world: the Petronas Towers!!

And, I didn’t see them just ONCE or TWICE but THREE times on 3 different occasions: First time, I made a short stopover (1 night) in KL on my way from Cameron Highlands to Melaka/Malacca. Second time, I took a bus from Melaka/Malacca to Malaysia’s capital, and spent 1 night and a morning in KL before catching a flight to Myanmar. I went to see the towers with Claudine (First Belgian girl I encountered on this trip!!!) and Gillian (funny, amazing Irish girl). And third time, I spent several days in KL when I returned from Myanmar and before I headed towards Singapore!

Why did I go three times to see these towers?What was so special about it? It didn’t have to do anything with #3 being a lucky number or a prime number, nor about magic, believes, nor superstitions! It was as if I was drawn towards these Petronas Towers.

There at a height of 452-metre. The 88 floors are constructed mainly of reinforced concrete, with a steel and glass facade designed by architect Cesar Pelli (an Argentine American creative, genius, architect born October 12, 1926; he’s considered as one of the top ten most influential living American architect and he put Malaysian architecture & culture on everyone’s radar with his creation; his project took several years 1992-1998) to resemble motifs found in Islamic culture.

And, there’s also this amazing Skybridge at the 41st and 42nd level! It’s the highest 2-storey bridge in the world!!!

So, the Petronas Towers are really one of a kind! And, I felt I kinda need to see them from every angle possible, in different lights, from different places… Otherwise I would be missing out on something… It may sound weird, but I actually could have stay there days & days, taking pictures of this worldwide famous Malaysian icon! 

It was as much impressive as I thought it would be! One more item that I can scratch off my bucket list 🙂 I visited 1, 2, 3 times KL’s twin towers and I loved it!!

This entry was posted in Malaysia. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to XXXVIII – Visited one, two, three times Kuala Lumpur’s famous Petronas Twin Towers!!

  1. Eva Meert says:

    Hi!
    O the famous builing of “Entrapment”!
    Off course, you should see it multiple times if you’re there. It’s so “cool”! 🙂

  2. Carly Larson says:

    I loved loved LOVED the twin towers too!

Leave a Reply

