XXXIV – Spotting architectural wonders all around George Town city.

Named after Britain’s King George III, George Town is the capital and largest city of the Malaysian island, called Penang island. This city was awarded UNESCO World Heritage status because it has an impressive collection of historical buildings representing the diverse cultures, ethnicities living here for the last 200 years: Chinese, Indians, Arabs, Malays, Achenes, Siamese, Burmese and Europeans! And, since I always enjoyed different architectures, I had to get there and see it with my own eyes!

The office of tourism proposed a free walking tour of the city. They handed me a map and all educational/historical information I needed to understand why I was staring at these specific buildings. I spent a great afternoon walking around the historical town and taking zillion of pics of beautiful buildings. I loved that I could explore the city by foot at my own rhythm. No rush, no traffic, no stress.

The next day, I decided to get another view/feeling from George Town. I wanted to see it from Penang Hill, a hill that offers a panoramic view of the city (830m above sea level). In order to reach the summit, you have to either walk or take a cute, small funicular train. I chose the second option 🙂 Even though I had walked all around the city (hours and hours), I knew it would be worth to get to Penang Hill, to see George Town from a different perspective.

George Town was definitely worth visiting with all the amazing, wonderful architectural buildings. But, the town didn’t have much more to offer… so I was ready for my next destination: Cameron Highlands!

This entry was posted in Malaysia. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to XXXIV – Spotting architectural wonders all around George Town city.

  1. Ana Rosa marquez says:

    Very interesting city,all those cultures in the same town!! Keep writing Big kiss Mom

  2. Carly Larson says:

    We had the same experience of George Town! Except your pictures are way better. 🙂

Leave a Reply

