XXXI – Disappointed by South of Thailand’s beaches…

After a Thai boxing training in the morning and then a total of 38 hours ride from Chiang Mai to Phuket (South of Thailand), I was beat, flat, exhausted, tired, worn-out, almost dead… If someone had asked me my name or what does one plus one equal, I wouldn’t have been able to answer!

I had taken a taxi, an overnight train, a day train, another taxi, a scooter, a 7-hour minivan and then walked to my hostel with my heavy backpack for 35 minutes under the rain! The minivan had dropped me in the middle of nowhere, and I didn’t have a map of Phuket Town! Ugh… I started walking, spotted a 7-Eleven store, went in and asked my way. I was saved by a very nice cashier lady who draw me a map on a small napkin 🙂 But that walk took every last bit of energy that I had!

The next day, I woke up to my stomach feeling odd and making strange sounds. Nausea and vomiting symptoms… so my guess is that I got some food poisoning when I ate a Phat Thai (a dish of stir-fried rice noodles with eggs, fish sauce, and vegetables) at the minivan station. Thus, my first 3 days in Phuket Town were spent mostly in bed 😦

Crowded Patong beach...

When I started feeling better, I went to Patong Beach (Phuket), and I was so disappointed! The beach was very crowded, with a lot of old Western men with Thai girls or even worst, with very young Thai boys (so shocking and disgusting!).

So disappointed!!

The sand had an ugly brown color and was full of debris! The water was very very dirty/polluted with plastic bags, bottles and trash floating at the surface. No need to say that I didn’t put a single toe in the ocean. I just couldn’t believe what I was seeing because so many people told me how beautiful all Thai beaches were. I was expecting Paradise, and I felt like I got stuck in Hell!

The cavemen traffic lights!! So weird!!

…………….. My next stop was Krabi Town. I took a bus with a guy I met in Phuket, James. I must say the town was very nice, and there were a lot of funny sculptures all around town. I especially found funny the cavemen traffic lights. I found out later why there were Neanderthals statues in Thailand? The reason was remains of Neanderthals (dated 30 thousand years B.C.) found in nearby limestone caves! Who would have guessed that!?!

Krabi town... so a GIANT sculpture of sea crabs?!?

…………………The following day of our arrival, we went to check out the coastline, and I had to admit that Ao Nang Beach was nicer than Patong Beach, Phuket.

Ao Nang beach...

But, it didn’t quite reach the same level of “Wow, OMG, this place is incredible, and I must be in Paradise or in a really good dream and please, no one should wake me up” as of Palawan island in the Philippines.

Fortunately, I met again great people, and spend my days just hanging around and talking with them.

And, the hostels in Phuket and Krabi were by far the best hostels I stayed in since the beginning of this journey! Both hostels were super clean, had huge beds with comfy mattresses, and had shampoo, conditioner and soap in the bathrooms!

By the end of my stay in Thailand, I was feeling disappointed, and happy to leave for Malaysia. I wasn’t too impressed with South Thailand’s beaches. But now, I am wondering… “Did I set my standards too high and expect too much?”

This entry was posted in Thailand. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to XXXI – Disappointed by South of Thailand’s beaches…

  1. Carly Larson says:

    I totally agree about the Krabi and Phuket beaches!

Leave a Reply

