Isn’t it funny how your vision of things can change because of work?

When I was working at Sony, I was literally obsessed with laptops. I was in charge of the production & selling’s planning of the C series VAIO laptops, the very colourful laptops (pink, blue, red,…)!  At the time, I knew all about the market, the competitors, the marketing campaigns, the new launches, the specifications of each laptop and desktop, …

Words like konnichiwa (hello in Japanese), specs, hardware, OS, CPU, RAM, gigs, softwares, seihan day (Qty production planning is reconcile with European Qty selling planning; basically my worst, longest day of the week… I still have some nightmares about me being in the office till 1 am!! ugh!!), in-store promo, sell-in, sell-out, ultraportable segment, san (a Japanese honorific suffix attached to first names; for example, Cristina-san), SAP PO orders, Arigato gozaimasu (Thank you in Japanese), etc…  were part of my everyday vocabulary. I was a bit of a geek!!

While driving, I kept seeing Sony centers in neighbourhoods where I previously had never noticed their presence. While watching a movie, I would immediately notice if there was a Sony Bravia TV or a VAIO laptop. While sitting at a friend’s house, I would look around for their electronics… just to see if it was Sony!! While shopping, I would always go quickly to FNAC’s electronic department…just to see the latest displays!! Everything evolved around Sony’s products…

Then, I started working at PepsiCo, and my world completely shifted again!

While driving, I would see a store and immediately ask myself what is the name of the store? Who is the sales rep visiting it? Is it part of Evy’s or Michael’s sector? I couldn’t go grocery shopping in a supermarket as before (in a rush, spending top 15 minutes). I couldn’t leave without walking by the snacks alleys, just to check if our latest products were on the shelves. I found myself looking at every prices of our juices. I seemed to notice instantly all the in-store animations, displays and marketing materials (banners, wobblers,… Ours and the ones from competitors). And, I could talk hours about PepsiCo’s latest products, marketing campaigns,… to my friends (I think I bored them with it). I would see the Pepsi logo everywhere!!!

And, now miles away from work, I still see Pepsi everywhere!! From the huge billboard to the smallest napkin, I see the logo. It’s like my eyes are trained and forced to see them!!  LOL… I just can’t help it!!  I took some pics of funny, yummy and cute Pepsi items…

Isn’t it funny how your world, your vision of things can change because of your professional life, your work?

This entry was posted in About me. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Isn’t it funny how your vision of things can change because of work?

  1. Marita Vermeulen says:

    YOU ROCK GIRL!!!!!!! from another Pepsi-lover :-)))

  2. Carly Larson says:

    I saw a Chilean guy wearing a Pepsi jacket today and thought of you! 🙂 Hope to see you soon!

    • Cris says:

      Pepsi jacket 🙂 In April, I’ll have a better idea about my itinerary in South America, will definitely keep you updated!! Take care!! xxx

Leave a Reply

