Close your eyes. Take a deep breath. Make the leap.

Friends, family, colleagues, random encounters during this trip…Almost everyone asks me the same questions: Why did you do it? How did you get yourself embarked in this “solo-around-the-world-trip” situation? Why did you wanted to be miles away from your hometown, Brussels? What do you expect out of this trip? etc… I usually answer it was the right time – I had the opportunity to do it now. But, the truth is a bit more complex…

It all started a couple of months ago, I was having a drink with a friend, Sophie, and started talking about what I really wanted to try out but never had the guts to do it: singing in a Karaoke, getting a new hair color/cut, bungee jumping, taking diving lessons, …

Then, the conversation quickly shifted to making major life changes, to experiencing new things.

That night got me thinking about my life, about the choices I made over the years, about the dreams I had and never fulfilled…

I clearly wasn’t happy with where my life was heading towards to. Lately, I was feeling lost, confused and disconnected from my relationships and my work. It was as if I was stuck in a rut, and couldn’t seem to get out of it. For the first time in my life, I was completely aimless & passionless. Deep down I knew that I wasn’t on the right track, and that I needed to make some changes in my life. But for a while, it was way easier to not do a thing about it, than to try figuring out the what/how/when/why…

Trying to search for a new meaning and life direction seemed like an impossible task, especially for me! Whether it’s something as simple as getting a new haircut or a bit more complex as buying a new car, I am always making endless pros and cons lists, planning things and taking FOREVER to decide. I just want to be 100% sure that I am making the right decision, which is, of course, impossible to know in advance. So, change seems to terrify me into non-action…

But here we’re talking about something as major as embarking on a new life direction. And, I didn’t have a damn clue about where to start! It wasn’t a simple problem that could easily be tackled. It’s wasn’t a specific event that trigger this feeling of being stuck, but rather a succession of small & big events, frustrations and deceptions. And I guess I did nothing about it for a while… kept thinking that it would get better, that my problems would vanish with time, and mostly that my dreams will miraculously happen, …

But unfortunately for me, dreams don’t magically come true, opportunities don’t knock to your door, and issues aren’t solved in a snap of fingers or a nose twitch! I wished though, my life would be much easier! But that only happens in the movies, not in real life! So, me staying safely where I’ve always been and doing what I’ve always been doing…won’t help!

I thought about what someone very wise once told me : “Cristina, the day you’ll forget about what others expect from you, that you’ll let go of your fears and  drop this perch of security of yours…..is THE day that you’ll move forward, that you’ll dare to take some chances & that your dreams will come true”

It was so true! I had to dare to take some chances in my life. Even if not having a clue on how it’s going to end scared the hell out of me! But, never taking any risks, never challenging life, never stepping out of my comfort zone or never trying something new, were even scarier thoughts! It can only lead to regrets. And when I’ll reach the end of my life, I really don’t want my biggest regrets to be the things I didn’t get to do, the things I didn’t dare to do.

So, how about me grabbing each opportunity, every day… Sometimes it will work out great, other times it will be a mess, a disaster, a mistake (I am betting on most of the times with my legendary luck!). But, I am a fervent believer in “better have remorse then regrets”. At least, I won’t always wonder “What if ?”. The eternal “what if” can be a real brain torture. Besides, doesn’t it all come down to “You’ll never know, unless you take the chance”.

No more inactions, no more time spent in dwelling on and no more analysing for the million times the past! No more fears, no more doubts, no more second guessing! No more security net, no more safe old habits and known territories!

I am going to fulfill one of my long-time dream: travel solo around the world for a year and along the way, I hope to find my myself… 

I just need to close my eyes, take a deep breath & finally make the leap!

This entry was posted in About me. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Close your eyes. Take a deep breath. Make the leap.

  1. Marita Vermeulen says:

    AND LOVING YOU FOR IT!!!!

  2. Dave says:

    Wow great text Cris, well written and really moving.
    Enjoy each day of your fabulous trip (envy you so much…)
    Kisses and take care 😉

    Dave & Jess
    (India in 5 days for us, Yay !)

    • Cris says:

      Thanks! India will be quite a life experience!!
      Can’t wait to hear back from your adventures 🙂
      Send me some pics as well… I am curious to see how it
      looks…
      Lots of kisses to both of you. Miss you!!

Leave a Reply

