What’s up with WhatsApp?

I swear I must be the only person on this planet who didn’t know about this application, WhatsApp!! The worst is I actually have friends using it… and even my sister is using it!! You would believe that they would tell me about this great, practical, amazingly easy-to-use invention, right? Wrong. wrong. wrong. No one did!!

I had to be in Beijing in order to learn about this app!! Seriously !?!

In China, I felt really disconnected from the world. Internet censorship is a very serious matter! No Facebook, no Myspace, no wordpress, … basically no access to any social media! They are banned! The government also blocks certain websites, and restraints your search engine’s results. That’s why it takes minutes to load up any web page.

Access to Gmail is excruciatingly slow. You actually have time to prepare coffee, take a shower, get dressed up, and put on your make-up before being able to read your messages. It’s really annoying! No need to say, I stopped trying. I have zero patience…

With no Gmail and FB access, I was bound to send sms… at least to my parents to let them know I was still alive! Until one day, one conversation with my friend, Ionel, while I was sending a sms to my sis…

Ionel: Do your parents and sister have smartphones?

Me: Huh…they have Iphone and BB…..so…. yes???

Ionel: Why aren’t you using Whatsapp?

Me: But it only works on smartphones? right?

Ionel: Yes. But, you have a BlackBerry. That’s a smartphone!

Me: Huh…….no comments. [I am having a Blonde moment]

Ionel grabbed my BB, installed the app in 3 minutes, and 5 minutes later, I was sending my first Whatsapp message to my dear little sis!!

In the following days, I asked my parents to install it on their smartphones, and discovered how to use this amazing application!! For the ones who are not familiar with WhatsApp, if you have an internet connection, you can send unlimited images, video and audio media messages to any other WhatsApp user. And, last but not least, you can exchange messages without having to pay for SMS. My bank account and I, are LOVING this!! It’s just awsome!!

Needless to say, I am now a big WhatsApp FAN!! Greatest invention EVER!!

ps: If you do have a smartphone, and still don’t have the app. Download it NOW! It’s an order!!  LOL !!  So, you can send me messages from time to time 😉

This entry was posted in About me. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to What’s up with WhatsApp?

  1. Marita Vermeulen says:

    Unfortunately, you were not the only one not knowing! The good news, I have a smartphone too (altough I’m not :-)))

  2. Jess says:

    Euh… You did know about Blackberry Messenger. Right?! :p

  3. Lidia Dalle Vedove says:

    😀 !!

  4. Ana Marquez says:

    Super application !!! Never alone with WhatsApp .Big kiss Mom

Leave a Reply

