Traveling is a way of improving myself.

A couple of months ago, I wrote a list of all things I so wanted to experience but never had the guts to do it! I had my 30 things to do before turning 30 (yeaaaah, I know it sounds cliché; I admit it!).

To be realistic, I won’t be able to do all of them before my 30th birthday. Thus, my deadline is mid-October 2012, the end of this around-the-word trip. Time enough to fully live my youth, to do my last crazy/silly stuffs, to get it out of my system while it’s still considered OK to do them. Because as you reach your 30s, people expect you to act as a grown-up, to settle down, get married, buy a nice appartement/house & have kids… Not to leave everything behind & backpack around the world!

So, here is my list of new things to experience:

  1. See the world – Travel backpack for a year
  2. Take a wickedly cool convertible (Ferrari or similar) for a sweet ride
  3. Pilot a small plane (my childhood’s dream – being an airline pilot)
  4. Bungee jump or skydive
  5. Sing Karaoke
  6. Sleep under the stars
  7. Cheers at a huge sports event (maybe an American football game)
  8. Physical challenge – Climb a rocky mountain
  9. Volunteer / Give to Charity
  10. Fly fish within the Rockies
  11. Scuba dive off Australia’s Great Barrier Reef
  12. Swim with sharks (or maybe just nice dolphins)
  13. Shoot something (not someone!)
  14. Go to extremes – Run a semi-marathon (Semi?!? because let’s be realistic here, I am not in shape to run a full 42 km marathon)
  15. Ride on an elephant (or a horse – that would really be a challenge as I am scared of horses!)
  16. Go up in a hot air balloon
  17. Learn how to sail on my own
  18. Dye my hair in a funny color
  19. Get lost in a country where you don’t speak the language
  20. Surf on a wave for more than 1 minute
  21. Watch a real live Thai boxing game
  22. Have my portrait painted
  23. Go on an spelunking expedition
  24. Drive across Canada from coast to coast
  25. Go on a Yoga and/or meditation retreat
  26. Ride on a motorcycle
  27. Create an artwork with my bare hands
  28. Take a 2 days (or more) canoe trip
  29. Learn country line dancing
  30. Get a tattoo (still doubting about this last one, though)

This list gives me a purpose, something to look forward to. Some small, challenging experiences to get me out of my comfort zone. Baby steps to learn more about myself, to discover my limits, and to annihilate some of my fears, doubts, and second guessing. It’s about gaining confidence & believing in me! It’s about proving to myself that I can actually do this on my own! One after another…

This trip around the world is also a once in a lifetime chance to see some wonders of this world! Hopefully, soon I will be able to scratch off some items of my second list as I will set foot in Asia and North, Central & South America.

And, my second list of places to see :

  • Bali beaches, Indonesia  El Nido, Philippines
  • Machu Picchu, Peru
  • Niagara Falls, Canada & USA
  • Great Wall, China
  • Kalalau Trek Trail, Kawai, Hawaii
  • Iguazu Falls, Argentina
  • Gran Salar de Uyuni, Bolivia
  • Angkor Wat & Silver Pagoda, Cambodia
  • Easter Island, Chili
  • Hong Kong Harbor, HK
  • Las Vegas, California USA
  • Petronas Twin Towers, Malaysia
  • Yellowstone National Park, USA
  • Paria Canyon, Arizona, USA
  • Forbidden City, China
  • Banaue Rice Terraces, Philippines
  • Sagada’s caves, Philippines
  • Temple of Reclining Buddha, Thailand
  • The Esplanade, Singapore
  • Boston and Chicago cities, USA
  • Temple of Emerald Buddha, Bangkok Thailand
  • The end of the world, Ushuaia, Argentina
  • Salar de Uyuni, Bolivia
  • Torres del Paine National Park, Chili
  • Floating Market, Damnoen Saduak, Thailand
  • Perito Moreno Glacier, Patagonia, Argentina
  • Lake Titicaca, Bolivia
  • The desert of San Pedro de Atacama, Chili
  • CN Tower, Toronto Canada
  • The Canadian Rockies, Canada

For me, solo traveling to unknown territories is hopefully a good way to find some answers, to get inspired and to feel alive! I am fully committed in this project, body and soul. In doing so, I hope to find my way…

This entry was posted in About me. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Traveling is a way of improving myself.

  1. Karine Verstapprn says:

    Hey Christina,
    Dat ziet er allemaal mooi uit zeg… leuk om af en toe nog van je te horen… geniet er nog ten volle van en hopelijk kan je je 30 to-do’s op je lijstje verwezelijken…
    Enjoy….
    karine

    • Cris says:

      Dag Karine!

      Bedankt voor je berichtje!! Blij om te horen dat je mijn avonturen volgen… Geniet van deze blog 😉 Hoe gaat het met jou? Wat zijn de laatste nieuws bij PepsiCo?

      Ik zal zeker proberen om al mijn 30 to-do’s te verwezelijken…Soms moet je in het leven ni lang twijfelen!! Gewoon doen!! Juist?

      Last but not least, ik wens je een héél tof 2012!! Veel liefde, plezier en geluk in je leven!!

      Groetjes,
      Cristina

  2. A formidable share, I just given this onto a colleague who was doing a little evaluation on this. And he the truth is purchased me breakfast as a result of I found it for him.. smile. So let me reword that: Thnx for the treat! But yeah Thnkx for spending the time to discuss this, I feel strongly about it and love studying extra on this topic. If attainable, as you become experience, would you thoughts updating your weblog with more particulars? It is highly helpful for me. Large thumb up for this weblog submit!

Leave a Reply

